IALEI consists of ten members. The Alliance was formalised in Singapore, with the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding, in August 2007.

It started with eight leading institutions from Australia, Canada, China, Denmark, South Korea, Singapore, UK and the USA. Since then, Brazil and South Africa have joined the Alliance. 


IALEI consists of ten member institutions, each from a different country, representing leading education institutes around the globe. IALEI aspires to make an impact on policy decisions, influence funding and inspire research and interventions that have a meaningful impact on education locally and globally. Membership of the Alliance is limited and by invitation only. More information regarding the process here.


IALEI consists of ten member. For detailed information regarding each member, click on the name and be guided to the relevant homepage in English:


Melbourne Graduate School of Education, The University of Melbourne


Faculty of Education, University of Sao Paulo


Ontario Institute for Studies in Education, University of Toronto


Faculty of Education, Beijing Normal University


Department of Education, Aarhus University


National Institute of Education, Nanyang Technological University

South Africa

School of Education, University of Cape Town

South Korea

 College of Education, Seoul National University

United Kingdom

Institute of Education, University of London


Faculty of Education, University of Wisconsin-Madison